More about the media captioning idea

OK, poetry’s outta my system for a bit. Back to software. (May they inspire each other)…

When I last threw out some ideas about online media captioning there was a lot of interest. Must be onto something.

I owe the dotSUB folks a piece of video to get the ball rolling. I’m also happy that folks from two different schools (PSU, NC State) commented that they’d like to get in on this collaboratively and find some funding.

Meanwhile, I re-discovered the BBC’s Annotatable Audio project. Similar concept in terms of Wiki-style annotations to help others find segments. I wonder if this project ever got put into production. Either way, more food for thought.

The captioning idea could be succesful because it has a distinct annotation goal (transcript, captioning, translation) and interface pre-segments. Let’s keep this one going.

4 Responses to “More about the media captioning idea”

  1. Stephen Foster Says:

    Obadiah,

    I ran across your blog through an RSS feed that came into my inbox. I would like to explore some more of your thoughts and see if you and I could chat on a project we have been working on: pioneering captioned radio for the deaf and hard-of-hearing. I have a personal attachment to see this company succeed because I was born profoundly deaf.

    If you could help provide a navigational compass for me in terms of talking with some people, that would be particularly helpful.

    Best regards,
    Stephen Foster
    CEO
    iMobile Access Technologies (iMAT)
    sfoster@imobileaccess.com

  2. obie Says:

    Hi Stephen,

    I’d love to discuss this. Let’s connect over email to set up a time to talk.

  3. Tristan Says:

    Re the BBC Annotatable Audio project – we’re still working on it! Hopefully it will see the light of day by April. Good to see you’re interested.

  4. Tristan Says:

    Thought you might be interested that we’ve now launched Annotatable Audio, now called Find Listen Label.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

